Christianity in Morocco – christianity in morocco

Trip program

Day 1
Moscow-Casablanca direct flight
IN 12:30 Arrival in Casablanca. Sightseeing tour of the city with a tour of the largest mosque of Hassan II, towering on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean, walk through the "Medina" - the old city of Casablanca, inspection of the Pasha Palace and the Anfa diplomatic quarter, walks along the Casablanca promenade. Prayer in the Assumption Church. A story about the history of Russian emigration in Morocco. Moving to Rabbat (80km). Overnight.

Day 2
Breakfast. Rabat - the first of the four imperial cities of Morocco. Divine Liturgy at the Russian Orthodox Church of the Resurrection of Christ in Rabat. Visit to the capital of the Kingdom of Morocco, its historical, industrial and cultural center - the colorful city of Rabat. Guided tour of the old town, mausoleum of Muhammad V, Hassan Tower, the royal palace is the current residence of the head of state, visit to the largest in Morocco Archaeological Museum with pebble artifacts, Mousterian and Aterian culture, more than 6 thousand years ago. Overnight at the hotel.

Day 3
Breakfast. Moving to Meknes (140 km)- the second of the four imperial cities of Morocco, it is often called the Moroccan Versailles. Meknes was founded in the 10th century by the Zenet Berbers. During the Almoravid era, a fortified city arose here. For a long time was the residence of the royal vizier. Then, late 17th century, Sultan Moulay Ismail chose Meknes from many cities and turned it into the majestic and main city of his vast empire. Inspection of "Medina", visit to the Royal Palace (Ismail's stables, underground prison for christians) inspection of the fortifications, fortress gate Bab Mansol, El Hedim square, madrasah. Moving to Volubilis (28 km)- the ancient city – the ancient capital of the Roman province of Mauritania Tingitania (province of ancient Carthage). Mosaics have been preserved here, Triumphal Arch, thermae, house of Orpheus. Entrance tickets are paid additionally.
Moving to Fez (30 km) - second imperial city of Morocco, its cultural and religious capital. Hotel accommodation, Overnight.

Day 4
Breakfast. Inspection of the ancient Medina of Fez - the pearls of Arab architecture, visit to Bab-bu-Jelud gate, Al Karaouin University, Bou Inanya Madrasah, house of Dar al-Magan, square and fountain Nezharin. Walk through the tanners and potters quarter, where the craftsmen of leatherwork and pottery work according to the technology of their ancestors.

Day 5
Early breakfast. Moving Fez-Ifran-Errachidia-Efrud. Departure to Efrud via Midelt, depression of the Middle Atlas mountain range, as well as through Immuser Kandar, Berber villages, Ifrane ski resort, Azru village, famous for the production of carpets. Stop for lunch (optional).Continuation of the trip to Erfed via Errachidia, Valley of Cued Ziz, visit to the source of Meksi. Arrival at Ephrud. Hotel accommodation.

Day 6
Erfud-Tinerir-Warzazat.
Early morning (upon request for an additional fee 70 euro) early departure by jeep to the Merzouga dunes, outpost on the border of one of the greatest deserts, Sahara. Sunrise and Orthodox prayer in the desert. Thematic story of the Christian fathers – hermits. Return to hotel for breakfast. Departure to Ouarzaat via Tinerir and the famous Torda Gorge. Tinerif, small town, towering over a rare palm oasis. IN 15 km from Tinerir one of the most spectacular spectacles in Morocco opens - the Todra gorge. Two giant rocks of pink granite converge at a height 300 m. Continue along the Dades Valley past Kelaa M. Gouna with its pink plantations. Arrival to Ouarzazate. Hotel accommodation.

Day 7
Warzazat - Ait Benhadu - Marrakech
Breakfast. Moving to Marrakech through the Tizi n Tishka pass (2270 m). Stop and visit the famous Kasbah (fortress) Ait Benhaddu. This Berber fortress is located among almond trees and is so picturesque, which often served as a set for feature films (Lawrence of Arabia, "Gladiator" and others). Arrival in Marrakech. Hotel accommodation.

Day 8
Breakfast. Marrakech – "Pearl of the South". Since the city was one of the capital cities of the Kingdom, a large number of museums and architectural monuments are concentrated here., each of which is a masterpiece of art. Visit to the Koutoubia mosque, Tower of the Tower, El Badi Palace (Bahia), Majorelle Gardens. Jamaa al Fna square, The famous oriental market. Overnight in Marrakech.

Day 9
Breakfast. Moving to El Jadida. Free time by the ocean; Optional excursion and inspection of the Portuguese fortress (10 euro)
Transfer to the airport in 18:00. Departure to Moscow at 22:45.

notes

  1. Zakharov Nikolay, archpriest [http://orthodox-rabat.ru/history-the temple/ Resurrection parish of the Moscow Patriarchate in Rabat (to the 50th anniversary of the foundation)] (Rus.) // Журнал Московской Патриархии : Journal. — 1978. — № 6. - FROM. 13—16.
  2. Eulogius (Georgievsky), metropolitan. [http://pravbeseda.ru/library/index.php?page=book&id = 741 The path of my life]. - M.: Moscow worker, 1994.
  3. [http://zarubezhje.narod.ru/av/v_065.htm Archimandrite Barsanuphius (Tolstukhin Vasily Grigorievich)] // Bibliographic reference book "Religious figures and writers of the Russian diaspora"
  4. At the same time, the Greek parish of the Annunciation of the Most Holy Theotokos appears in Casablanca.
  5. [http://zarubezhje.narod.ru/av/a_090.htm Archimandrite Avramy (Abraham) (Tereshkevich Alexander Nikolaevich)] // Bibliographic reference book "Religious figures and writers of the Russian diaspora"
  6. IN 1937 year Hieromonk Abraham was replaced by celibate priest Mikhail Yaroslavtsev, future Archimandrite Mitrofan, from 1952 second rector of the Resurrection Church of Rabat.
  7. [http://zarubezhje.narod.ru/tya/sh_057.htm Priest Nikolai Shkarin (Shkarin Nikolay Pavlovich)] // Bibliographic reference book "Religious figures and writers of the Russian diaspora"
  8. ↑ Report at the general meeting of the Orthodox Russian parish in Morocco, 25 December 1931 of the year. - Archive of the Resurrection Parish of Rabat.
  9. Pauline de Mazières (P. P. Sheremeteva). History of the Russians in Morocco. Fragment III. Madame Djabli. — Tanger: Edition Khbar Bladna, 2011. - FROM. 7. — 33 from. — ISBN 9789954523414.
  10. Archimandrite Mitrofan (Yaroslavtsev). History and life of the Moroccan Orthodox Church. - Archive of the Resurrection Parish of Rabat.
  11. Prot. n. Zakharov mistakenly reports to the ZhMP about the consecration for the feast of the Entry into the Temple of the Most Holy Theotokos
  12. Father of Peter Petrovich and Praskovya Petrovna (Pauline de Mazières) Sheremetevs, husband of Marina Dmitrievna Levshina
  13. [http://tserkov.eparhia.ru/numbers/orthodox/?ID = 91 Geroev Gennady, archpriest. Russian hearth in Morocco] // Church messenger, № 14-15 (243-244) August 2002
  14. [http://zarubezhje.narod.ru/tya/sh_033.htm Sheremetev Petr Petrovich] // Bibliographic reference book "Religious figures and writers of the Russian diaspora"
  15. Hanson, Nikolai. [http://www.russianorthodoxchurch.ws/synod/documents/art_gansonmoracco.html Displaced Persons and the Russian Colony in Morocco]
  16. Metropolitan Eulogius to 1927 member of the Synod of Bishops of the ROCOR
  17. The candidacy of Archpriest Alexander Kiselev as the second priest for Casablanca was also considered. He received a visa to Morocco before Father Mitrofan Znosko, but refused the appointment.
  18. Report of Archpriest Mitrofan Znosko on his arrival in Morocco, sent to Metropolitan Anastassy 4 October 1948 of the year. - Synodal Archives of the ROCOR.
  19. Prot. M. Footnote. [http://russian-inok.org/books/mitrofan.html In Defense of the Truth (articles 1952-1977)]
  20. Archpriest Mitrofan Znosko. Report by the head of the Russian Orthodox community in Morocco on the life and state of the community by January 1953 of the year. - Synodal Archives of the ROCOR.
  21. Since the 1970s, there has been no permanent ROCOR priest in Casablanca. To 2000 Years the Western European Diocese of the ROCOR sent its priest to Casablanca to celebrate Easter and / or Christmas services. The rest of the time, the ROCOR temple was closed and inaccessible.
  22. [http://artel-radost.ru/photo/khram_voskresenija_khristova_v_marokko_g_rabat/25 Orthodox mural artel "Joy"]

Problematic features

Article 3 The Moroccan Constitution "guarantees all the free functioning of beliefs", but the Moroccan Penal Code prohibits conversions to other religions, than islam. Conversion of Muslims to Christianity (or proselytization or treason) were often during the colonial period, because laws against such transformations did not yet exist.

According to Article 220 Moroccan Penal Code, "any, who uses incitement, to shake the faith of a Muslim or convert him to another religion ", subject to sentence 3 – 6 months and fine 16$ to 79$ (115 – 575 dirkhamov). Any attempt to induce a Muslim to convert is illegal

Foreign missionaries either limit their conversions to non-Muslims or try to conduct their work carefully

Anglican

While most areas of Africa (including eastern North Africa) there are independent Anglican dioceses and regions, western North Africa, including the Anglican Church of Morocco, is part of the Diocese of Europe, which is itself part of the Province of Canterbury in the Church of England. There are two permanent chaplains, one in Casablanca and one in Tangier. Small groups of Anglicans worshiped together in Marrakech, but there is no Anglican church, based here.

St Andrew's Anglican Church, Tangier has become a tourist attraction, partly due to certain well-known figures, buried in her cemetery. Church – early twentieth century replacement for an earlier smaller building, which was built with the special permission of the King of Morocco on land, donated to him.

St. Anglican Church. John the Evangelist, Casablanca, located in the center, close to Hyatt Regency, a landmark hotel in the city center. It has a renowned congregation and holds two services every Sunday morning, to accommodate all parishioners. There is a question-answer program for children.

story

Christianity in Morocco appeared during Roman times, when it was done by Christian Berbers in Roman Mauretania Tingitan, although it disappeared after the Islamic conquests.

According to tradition, martyrdom of St.. Marcellus took place 28 July 298 in Tingis (Tangier). Starting with Tetrarchy (Emperor Diocletian's reform of government structures in 296), Mauretania Tingitana became part of the Diocese of Hispaniae (latin plural), and hence in the Praetorian Prefecture of Gauls (Mauretania Caesariensis was in the diocese of Africa in another pretorian prefecture in the western empire), and remained so until its conquest by the Vandals. Lucilius Constantius registered as governor (praise) mid to late fourth century.

Christian Expat Community (Catholic and Protestant) comprises 5 000 практикующих участников, although the estimates of Christians, living in the country at any given time, располагаются до 25 000. Most Christians live in urban areas of Casablanca and Rabat. Most Christians in Morocco – Foreigners, although the Voice of the Martyrs reports, that there is a growing number of native Moroccans (45,000) conversion to Christianity, especially in rural areas. Many new converts are secretly baptized in churches in Morocco.

Construction of the Resurrection Church and major events before 1945 of the year

In the 1920s and 1930s, Russian emigrants did not have sufficient funds to acquire a land plot for the construction of a church.. Services in Rabat were held in a temporary barrack. The appearance of the majestic Resurrection Church was served by one amazing case.

Noble Resident of Rabat Sheriff Hussein Jebli, married to a Russian citizen Elena Alekseevna Bezrukova (married El Aydouni Djebli el Alami, in Islam Khadija), suffered a serious illness. When medical supplies have been exhausted, but the disease did not recede, on the advice of his Russian wife, the Moroccan called Father Barsanuphius to him and asked him to pray. After a prayer service performed by an Orthodox priest, Jebli recovered. As a token of gratitude, he donated a plot of land to the Russian community for the construction of the temple.. 12 December 1929 year the bill of sale was issued, where was the symbolic amount of one franc. It specified, that the land can only be used for the construction of a Russian Orthodox church.

Collection of donations for construction began in the Russian community. For this purpose, even charitable Russian evenings with a theatrical program and balls were organized, which were popular with the Arabs and French. Metropolitan Eulogius recalled this: “It can be said without exaggeration - our girls danced with their feet, - they built our wonderful temple in Rabat ".

The foundation stone of the church took place on July 5-6 1931 years on the day of celebration of the Vladimir Icon of the Mother of God. Construction of a snow-white temple in honor of the Resurrection of Christ in simple Arabic (according to other information, in Moorish or Moorish-Byzantine style) lasted a little over a year.

13 November 1932 Years Metropolitan Evlogiy consecrated the Church of the Resurrection. The Metropolitan was co-served by the rector of the temple (elevated on this occasion to the rank of archimandrite), hieromonk Abraham and Alexander, Deacon Evgeny Vdovenko who arrived from Paris, as well as the rector of the Greek Church of the Annunciation in Casablanca, Archimandrite Dimitri, who read out the congratulations of Patriarch Meletius. The service was attended by representatives of the civil authorities and Christian communities of Morocco.

At the expense of AF. Stefanovsky, long-term head of the parish, to the temple in December 1932 the bell tower was added.

FROM 1933 year at the temple began to operate the Charity Committee, helped the Russians with money and things, scattered across the country.

The parish in Rabat was all Moroccan and united as of 1931 year about 280 families in different cities.

Parish choir, created by the efforts of Deacon Nikolai Shkarin and Peter Petrovich Sheremetev, performed concerts throughout Morocco. The French also sang in the choir, reaching out to Russian spiritual culture.

Foundation of the Russian Orthodox parish in Morocco

In the s in Morocco, divided into French and Spanish protectorates, Russian emigrants from Tunisia arrived in search of work, France, Yugoslavia and Bulgaria. Among them were the soldiers of the Foreign Legion, sailors of the Russian squadron from Bizerte, engineers and other immigrants of different classes.

IN 1927 Metropolitan Evlogii, administrator of the Russian Western European parishes (Georgievsky) at the request of the Russian community, sent Hieromonk Barsanuphius to serve in Morocco (Tolstukhina), a former inhabitant of the Valaam monastery.

Father Barsanuphius organized a parish in Morocco, the basis for which the Orthodox community served, registered as a society Orthodox Church and Russian Home in Morocco in 1927 year. In this regard, Metropolitan Eulogius asked for a blessing from Patriarch Meletius of Alexandria, who approved the opening of the Russian parish.

First liturgy, served in Rabat by Father Barsanuphius, was received by Orthodox believers with great enthusiasm:

Since Russian emigrants lived and worked not only in Rabat, but also in other cities, soon Russian parishes opened in Morocco: in Khuribga - Holy Trinity (the temple is consecrated 19 October 1930 of the year), in Casablanca - Uspensky (1935), in Marrakech - the chapel of St. Sergius (1932).

Metropolitan Evlogy sent clergy from Paris to help Father Barsanuphius: hieromonk Abraham (Tereshkevich) (arrived at 1930 year and served until 1937 years as rector of the church in Khuribga, after which he left for France) and Alexandra (Тюменева) (arrived at 1930 year, served as assistant rector of the church in Rabat until his death in 1943 year), Deacon Nikolai Shkarin (arrived at 1932 year, organized a parish choir in Rabat). Priests regularly visited Russian communities throughout Morocco. IN 1931 year, for the first time in the modern history of Morocco, Easter services were performed in three cities at once: Discounts, Khuribge and Casablanca.

Many years in the main parishes of Morocco in Rabat and in Khuribga (to 1943 of the year) daily services were held, in Casablanca - twice a month, in Kenitra - once a month.

Rate article

Христианство в Марокко — christianity in morocco

Программа поездки

День 1
Москва-Касабланка прямой перелет
В 12:30 Прибытие в Касабланку. Обзорная экскурсия по городу с осмотром крупнейшей мечети Хасана II, возвышающейся на берегу Атлантического океана, прогулка по «Медине»-старому городу Касабланки, осмотр дворца Паши и дипломатического квартала Анфа, прогулки по набережной Касабланки. Молебен в Успенской церкви. Рассказ о истории русской эмиграции в Марокко. Переезд в Раббат (80км). Ночлег.

День 2
Завтрак.Рабат– первый из четырех имперских городов Марокко. Божественная литургия в Русском православном храме во имя Воскресения Христова в Рабате. Посещение столицы Королевства Марокко, его исторического, индустриального и культурного центра – колоритного города Рабат. Экскурсия по старому городу, мавзолей Мухаммада V, Башня Хасана, королевский дворец-нынешняя резиденция главы государства, посещение крупнейшего в Марокко Археологического музея с артефактами галечной, мустьерской и атерийской культуры, существовавших более 6 тысяч лет назад. Ночлег в отеле.

День 3
Завтрак. Переезд в Мекнес (140 км)— второй из четырех имперских городов Марокко, его часто называют Марокканским Версалем. Мекнес основали в Х веке берберы-зенеты. В эпоху Альморавидов здесь возник укрепленный город. Он долгое время являлся резиденцией королевских визирей. Затем, в конце 17-го столетия, султан Мулай Исмаил выбирал Мекнес из множества городов и превратил его в величественный и главный город своей обширной империи. Осмотр «Медины», посещение Королеского дворца (Конюшни Исмаила, подземная тюрьма для христиан) осмотр крепостных укреплений, крепостные ворота Баб Мансол, площадь Эль Хедим, медресе. Переезд в Волюбилис (28 км)— античного города — древней столицы римской провинции Мавритания Тингитанская (провинция древнего Карфагена). Здесь сохранились мозаики, триумфальная арка, термы, дом Орфея. Входные билеты оплачиваются дополнительно.
Переезд в Фес (30 км) – второй имперский город Марокко, его культурная и религиозная столица. Размещение в отеле, Ночлег.

День 4
Завтрак. Осмотр древней Медины Феса – жемчужины арабской архитектуры, посещение ворота Баб-бу-Джелуд, университета Аль Карауин, медресе Боу Инанья, дом Дар-аль-Магана, площадь и фонтан Нежарин. Прогулка по кварталу кожевенников и гончаров, где мастера кожевенного и гончарного дела работают по технологии предков.

День 5
Ранний завтрак. Переезд Фес-Ифран-Эррашидия-Эфруд. Отъезд в Эфруд через Миделт, впадину горной цепи Среднего Атласа, а также через Иммузер Кандар, берберские деревушки, горнолыжный курорт Ифран, деревню Азру, известную производством ковров. Остановка на обед (по желанию).Продолжение поездки в Эрфед через Эррашидия, долину Куэд Зиз, посещение источника Мекси. Прибытие в Эфруд. Размещение в отеле.

День 6
Эрфуд-Тинерир-Уарзазат.
Ранним утром (по желанию за дополнительную плату 70 евро) ранний отъезд на джипах к дюнам Мерзуги, форпосту на границе одной из величайших пустынь, Сахары. Восход и православный молебен в пустыне. Тематический рассказ о христианских отцах — пустынниках. Возвращение в отель на завтрак. Отъезд в Уарзаат через Тинерир и знаменитое ущелье Торда. Тинериф, небольшой городок, возвышающийся над редким по красоте пальмовым оазисом. В 15 км от Тинерира открывается одно из самых захватывающих зрелищ на территории Марокко – ущелье Тодра. Две гигантске скалы розового гранита сходятся друг с другом на высоте 300 метров. Продолжение пути вдоль долины Дадес мимо Келаа М.Гуна с ее розовыми плантациями. Прибытие в Уарзазат. Размещение в отеле.

День 7
Уарзазат – Аит Бенхаду – Марракеш
Завтрак. Переезд в Марракеш через перевал Тизи-н-Тишка (2270 м). Остановка и посещение знаменитой Касбы (крепости) Аит Бенхадду. Эта берберская крепость расположена среди миндальных деревьев и настолько живописна, что часто служила съемочной площадкой для художественных фильмов («Лоуренс Аравийский», «Гладиатор» и др). Прибытие в Марракеш. Размещение в отеле.

День 8
Завтрак. Марракеш — «жемчужина Юга». Поскольку город являлся одной из столиц Королевства именно здесь сосредоточено большое количество музеев и памятников архитектуры, каждый из которых – шедевр искусства. Посещение мечети Кутубия, павильона Манара, дворца Эль-Бади (Бахья), Сады Мажореля. Площадь Джема аль Фна, Знаменитый восточный рынок. Ночлег в Марракеш.

День 9
Завтрак. Переезд в Эль Джадиду. Свободное время на берегу океана; По желанию экскурсия и осмотр Португальской крепости (10 евро)
Трансфер в аэропорт в 18:00. Вылет в Москву в 22:45.

Примечания

  1. Захаров Николай, протоиерей [http://orthodox-rabat.ru/история-храма/ Воскресенский приход Московского Патриархата в Рабате (к 50-летию со времени основания)] (рус.) // Журнал Московской Патриархии : журнал. — 1978. — № 6. — С. 13—16.
  2. Евлогий (Георгиевский), митрополит. [http://pravbeseda.ru/library/index.php?page=book&id=741 Путь моей жизни]. — М.: Московский рабочий, 1994.
  3. [http://zarubezhje.narod.ru/av/v_065.htm Архимандрит Варсонофий (Толстухин Василий Григорьевич)] // Библиографический справочник «Религиозные деятели и писатели русского зарубежья»
  4. В это же время в Касабланке появляется греческий приход Благовещения Пресвятой Богородицы.
  5. [http://zarubezhje.narod.ru/av/a_090.htm Архимандрит Аврамий (Авраамий) (Терешкевич Александр Николаевич)] // Библиографический справочник «Религиозные деятели и писатели русского зарубежья»
  6. В 1937 году иеромонаха Авраамия сменил целибатный священник Михаил Ярославцев, будущий архимандрит Митрофан, с 1952 года второй настоятель Воскресенской церкви Рабата.
  7. [http://zarubezhje.narod.ru/tya/sh_057.htm Священник Николай Шкарин (Шкарин Николай Павлович)] // Библиографический справочник «Религиозные деятели и писатели русского зарубежья»
  8. ↑ Доклад на общем собрании Православного русского прихода в Марокко, 25 декабря 1931 года. — Архив Воскресенского прихода Рабата.
  9. Pauline de Mazières (П. П. Шереметева). Histoire des Russes au Maroc. Fragment III. Madame Djabli. — Tanger: Edition Khbar Bladna, 2011. — С. 7. — 33 с. — ISBN 9789954523414.
  10. Архимандрит Митрофан (Ярославцев). История и жизнь Марокканской православной церкви. — Архив Воскресенского прихода Рабата.
  11. Прот. Н. Захаров ошибочно сообщает в ЖМП об освящении на праздник Введения во Храм Пресвятой Богородицы
  12. Отец Петра Петровича и Прасковьи Петровны (Pauline de Mazières) Шереметевых, муж Марины Дмитриевны Лёвшиной
  13. [http://tserkov.eparhia.ru/numbers/orthodox/?ID=91 Героев Геннадий, протоиерей. Русский очаг в Марокко] // Церковный вестник, № 14-15 (243-244) август 2002
  14. [http://zarubezhje.narod.ru/tya/sh_033.htm Шереметев Петр Петрович] // Библиографический справочник «Религиозные деятели и писатели русского зарубежья»
  15. Гансон, Николай. [http://www.russianorthodoxchurch.ws/synod/documents/art_gansonmoracco.html Перемещённые лица и русская колония в Марокко]
  16. Митрополит Евлогий до 1927 года членом Архиерейского Синода РПЦЗ
  17. Рассматривалась также кандидатура протоиерея Александра Киселёва как второго священника для Касабланки. Визу в Марокко он получил раньше отца Митрофана Зноско, но отказался от назначения.
  18. Рапорт протоиерея Митрофана Зноско о своём прибытии в Марокко, направленный митрополиту Анастасию 4 октября 1948 года. — Синодальный архив РПЦЗ.
  19. Прот. М. Зноско. [http://russian-inok.org/books/mitrofan.html В защиту правды (статьи 1952—1977)]
  20. Протоиерей Митрофан Зноско. Доклад настоятеля православной русской общины в Марокко о жизни и состоянии общины к январю 1953 года. — Синодальный архив РПЦЗ.
  21. С 1970-х годов в Касабланке не было постоянного священника РПЦЗ. До 2000 года Западно-Европейская епархия РПЦЗ присылала в Касабланку своего священника для совершения пасхального и/или рождественского богослужений. В остальное время храм РПЦЗ был закрыт и малодоступен.
  22. [http://artel-radost.ru/photo/khram_voskresenija_khristova_v_marokko_g_rabat/25 Православная стенописная артель «Радость»]

Проблематичные особенности

Статья 3 Марокканской конституции «гарантирует всему свободному функционированию верований», но Марокканский уголовный кодекс запрещает преобразования в другие религии, чем ислам. Преобразования мусульман к христианству (или proselytization или измена) часто были в колониальный период, потому что законы против таких преобразований еще не существовали.

Согласно Статье 220 Марокканского Уголовного кодекса, «любой, кто использует подстрекательства, чтобы поколебать веру мусульманина или преобразовать его в другую религию», подвергается предложению заключения 3 — 6 месяцев и штрафу 16$ к 79$ (115 — 575 дирхамов). Любая попытка побудить мусульманина преобразовывать незаконна

Иностранные миссионеры или ограничивают свое обращение в веру немусульманами или пытаются провести их работу осторожно

Англиканец

Пока у большинства областей Африки (включая восточную Северную Африку) есть независимые англиканские епархии и области, западная часть Северной Африки, включая англиканскую церковь Марокко, является частью епархии Европы, которая является самостоятельно частью Области Кентербери в Англиканской церкви. Есть два постоянных сана капеллана, один в Касабланке и один в Танжере. Небольшие группы англиканцев поклонялись вместе в Марракеше, но нет никакой англиканской церкви, основанной здесь.

Англиканская церковь Святого Эндрю, Танжер стал достопримечательностью, частично из-за определенных хорошо известных фигур, похороненных в ее кладбище. Церковь — замена начала двадцатого века для более раннего здания меньшего размера, которое было построено со специального разрешения Короля Марокко на земле, пожертвованной им.

Англиканская церковь Св. Иоанна Евангелист, Касабланка, расположена в центре, близко к Регентству Hyatt, знаменательному отелю в центре города. Это имеет известную конгрегацию и держит две услуги каждое воскресенье утром, чтобы разместить всех прихожан. Есть вопросно-ответная программа для детей.

История

Христианство в Марокко появилось в течение времен Романа, когда это было осуществлено христианскими берберами в Романе Мауретании Тингитане, хотя это исчезло после исламских завоеваний.

Согласно традиции, мученичество Св. Марселлеса имело место 28 июля 298 в Tingis (Танжер). Начиная с Tetrarchy (Реформа императора Дайоклетиэна правительственных структур в 296), Mauretania Tingitana стал частью епархии Hispaniae (латинское множественное число), и следовательно в Преторианской Префектуре Gauls (Mauretania Caesariensis был в епархии Африки в другой pretorian префектуре в западной империи), и остался таким до ее завоевания Вандалами. Луцилий Констанций зарегистрирован как губернатор (похвалы) в середине к концу четвертого века.

Сообщество экспатрианта Кристиана (католик и протестант) состоит из 5 000 практикующих участников, хотя оценки христиан, проживающих в стране в любое определенное время, располагаются до 25 000. Большинство христиан проживает в городских районах Касабланки и Рабата. Большинство христиан в Марокко — иностранцы, хотя Голос Мучеников сообщает, что есть растущее число Марокканцев по рождению (45,000) преобразование в христианство, особенно в сельских районах. Многих новообращенных крестят тайно в церквях Марокко.

Строительство Воскресенского храма и основные события до 1945 года

В 1920-30-е годы русские эмигранты не имели достаточных средств для приобретения земельного участка под строительство храма. Богослужения в Рабате проходили во временном бараке. Появлению величественного Воскресенского храма послужил один удивительный случай.

Знатного жителя Рабата Шерифа Хусейна Джебли, женатого на русской подданной Елене Алексеевне Безруковой (в замужестве El Aydouni Djebli el Alami, в мусульманстве Хадиджа), постигла тяжелая болезнь. Когда медицинские средства были исчерпаны, а болезнь не отступала, по совету своей русской супруги Марокканец призвал к себе отца Варсонофия и попросил его помолиться. После совершённого православным священником молебна Джебли выздоровел. В знак благодарности он пожертвовал русской общине участок земли для строительства храма. 12 декабря 1929 года была оформлена купчая, где значилась символическая сумма в один франк. В ней уточнялось, что земля может быть использована только для строительства русского православного храма.

В русской общине начался сбор пожертвований на строительство. С этой целью даже устраивались благотворительные русские вечера с театральной программой и балы, которые пользовались популярностью у арабов и французов. Митрополит Евлогий вспоминал об этом: «можно сказать без преувеличения — наши девочки своими ножками вытанцевали, — выстроили наш чудный храм в Рабате».

Закладка церкви состоялась 5—6 июля 1931 года в день празднования Владимирской иконы Божией Матери. Строительство белоснежного храма в честь Воскресения Христова в простом арабском (по другим сведениям, в мавританском или мавритано-византийском стиле) продолжалось чуть более года.

13 ноября 1932 года митрополит Евлогий совершил освящение Воскресенской церкви. Митрополиту сослужили настоятель храма (возведённый по этому случаю в сан архимандрита), иеромонахи Авраамий и Александр, прибывший из Парижа диакон Евгений Вдовенко, а также настоятель греческого Благовещенского храма в Касабланке архимандрит Димитрий, зачитавший поздравление Патриарха Мелетия. На богослужении присутствовали представители гражданских властей и христианских общин Марокко.

На средства А.Ф. Стефановского, многолетнего старосты прихода, к храму в декабре 1932 года была пристроена колокольня.

С 1933 года при храме стал действовать Благотворительный комитет, оказывавший помощь деньгами и вещами русским, рассеянным по всей стране.

Приход в Рабате был всеМарокканским и объединял по состоянию на 1931 год около 280 семей в разных городах.

Приходской хор, созданный усилиями диакона Николая Шкарина и Петра Петровича Шереметева, выступал с концертами по всему Марокко. В хоре пели также французы, тянущиеся к русской духовной культуре.

Основание русского православного прихода в Марокко

В -х годах в Марокко, разделённое на французский и испанский протектораты, прибыли в поисках работы русские эмигранты из Туниса, Франции, Югославии и Болгарии. Среди них были воины Иностранного легиона, моряки Русской эскадры из Бизерты, инженеры и другие эмигранты разных сословий.

В 1927 году управляющий русскими западноевропейскими приходами митрополит Евлогий (Георгиевский) по просьбе русской общины командировал на служение в Марокко иеромонаха Варсонофия (Толстухина), бывшего насельника Валаамского монастыря.

Отец Варсонофий организовал в Марокко приход, основой для которого послужила православная община, зарегистрированная как общество Eglise orthodoxe et foyer russe au Maroc в 1927 году. В связи с этим митрополит Евлогий испросил благословение у Патриарха Александрийского Мелетия, который одобрил открытие русского прихода.

Первая литургия, отслуженная в Рабате отцом Варсонофием, была воспринята православными верующими с большим воодушевлением:

Поскольку русские эмигранты жили и трудились не только в Рабате, но и в других городах, вскоре в Марокко открылись русские приходы: в Хурибге — Свято-Троицкий (храм освящён 19 октября 1930 года), в Касабланке — Успенский (1935), в Марракеше — часовня преподобного Сергия (1932).

В помощь отцу Варсонофию митрополит Евлогий прислал из Парижа клириков: иеромонахов Авраамия (Терешкевича) (прибыл в 1930 году и служил до 1937 года настоятелем церкви в Хурибге, после чего уехал во Францию) и Александра (Тюменева) (прибыл в 1930 году, служил помощником настоятеля церкви в Рабате до своей кончины в 1943 году), диакона Николая Шкарина (прибыл в 1932 году, занимался организацией приходского хора в Рабате). Священники регулярно посещали русские общины по всему Марокко. В 1931 году впервые за современную историю Марокко пасхальное богослужение совершалось сразу в трёх городах: Рабате, Хурибге и Касабланке.

Многие годы в основных приходах Марокко в Рабате и в Хурибге (до 1943 года) совершались ежедневные богослужения, в Касабланке — два раза в месяц, в Кенитре — один раз в месяц.

Оцените статью